MEAP Application is now closed.

For current and existing applicants, you can still log into your existing application if you should need to upload information to your current application.

For current applicants, click here to access the portal 


The North Dakota Medical Expense Assistance Program (MEAP) is a new program designed for first responders and frontline healthcare workers and provides financial assistance for COVID-19 related expenses. Eligible applicants may qualify to receive funding up to $5,000. MEAP funding is provided through CARES Act dollars received by the state of North Dakota and administered by the North Dakota Department of Commerce.

The North Dakota Legislative Budget Section reallocated federal CARES Act dollars on December 3, 2020, to the Department of Commerce for MEAP to provide medical expense assistance to support first responders and healthcare workers during the COVID-19 pandemic. The state of North Dakota is required by federal regulations to spend the dollars by the end of 2020.


To be eligible for MEAP, an applicant must:

  • be a first responder or frontline healthcare worker infected with COVID-19 (employee or volunteer) per Executive Orders 2020-12 and 2020-12.2, and
  • have received a positive COVID-19 medical diagnosis, and
  • have been denied a claim, or have not applied, for workers’ compensation benefits from WSI for COVID-19.
  • Upload required supporting documentation with application submission:
    • Documents must be clear, legible, and high-resolution, e.g. PDF, jpg etc.
    • If medical treatment for COVID-19 was received include billing statements (must clearly indicate the treating medical provider’s name, billing address, facility phone number), dates of service, amount charged, and amount covered by insurance.
    • COVID-19 test results must indicate the applicant’s name and the date testing and/or notification occurred.
    • Handwritten documents are not allowed

The following individuals are NOT eligible for an award under the MEAP:

  • Individuals with an accepted workers’ compensation claim for COVID-19 as defined under Executive Order 2020-12 and 2020-12.2.

Applicants may be eligible for $1,000 grant if they meet the above eligibility requirements. They may be eligible for an additional $4,000 if they did not have private health insurance coverage at the time they received treatment for COVID-19.


Who is covered in Executive Orders 2020-12 and 2020-12.2?


Frontline health care workers - This group includes medical providers extending direct patient care that exposes them to contact with the virus.  The following lists who is considered and not considered frontline health care workers; it is not inclusive but shows the intention of the executive order. 

  • Frontline health care workers include: doctors, nurses, certified nursing assistants, lab personnel and technicians, radiology/imaging personnel and technicians, physical therapist, occupational therapist, pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, social workers, chiropractors, dentists, optometrists, dietary aids, custodial staff, patient registration staff, laundry attendants, coroners, receptionists and patient intake coordinators, hospital social workers, hospital security staff and national guard members on state deployment if acting as a frontline health care role. 
  • Frontline health care workers do not include: billing and coding staff, document processing staff, administrative office personnel, and information technology staff. 


First responders - This group includes licensed, certified, or recognized responders whose job duties expose them to COVID-19 from direct citizen contact while in the act of first response. The following lists who is considered first responders; it is not inclusive but shows the intention of the executive order. 

  • Medical first responders include: emergency medical technicians, ambulance personnel, state troopers, police, or deputies (paid or volunteer), firefighters (paid or volunteer), national guard members on state deployment if acting as a medical first responders. 
  • Non-medical first responders include: court and judicial personnel including judges, judicial referees, bailiffs, court staff, Bureau of Criminal Investigation investigators, state troopers, police or deputies (paid or volunteer), parole and probation officers, parks and recreation officers, firefighters (paid or volunteer), department of corrections staff, jailers, crime lab personnel, and staff of the North Dakota jails and prisons having direct inmate exposure, including janitorial and food service personnel. 


Care providers of those with intellectual and developmental disabilities -  This group includes frontline employees providing direct care or services to those with intellectual and developmental disabilities who expose the employee to the virus.  The group specifically includes employees of a facility licensed under North Dakota Century Code chapter 25-16 or employees of the Life Skills and Transition Center as defined in North Dakota Century Code chapter 25-04. It does not include employees exposed to the virus outside of providing direct care or services to those with intellectual and developmental disabilities. 




Additional Information and Contact Information:

Applications will be considered on a first-come, first-served basis. Funding will be approved if the application meets all criteria and funding is available. Applications are now closed. Contact MEAP Hotline at or 701-328-6004 with questions.